Personal

Father’s Day 2017 Message

Father’s day was more than a week ago, but let me belatedly share with you my message for my father, which I posted on my fb timeline.

Since my parents got into facebook, they look forward to lengthy messages on special occassions. As a dutiful daughter, I am willing to oblige. Besides, it doesn’t hurt to show appreciation, right? I think people should be generous with kind words. It’s one of the easiest ways to spread happiness and love!

Just for a bit of context, my father is an OFW (Overseas Filipino Worker). Because he works abroad, we only get to see him a maximum total of two months per year. It’s quite sad, but we are actually luckier than some, who has to wait years before they see their loved ones again.

Below is my message for my dad:

My dad’s luggage is made of magic. No matter how packed it is, there will always, always be room for more pasalubong requests. Cup noodles? Rice crackers? Chocolates? A bag? Feeding bottles? More cup noodles with bulkier packaging? They all go in.

Expandable yet sturdy, fickle yet reliable, the luggage takes after its owner’s heart. ❤

So don’t worry dad. They do say I am so much like you, looks, gestures, quirks, and all. I also aspire to have a heart as big as yours. So even if I now have a boyfriend, and no matter what happens in the future, you will always have a place in my heart solely reserved for dads- immovable and impenetrable.

To the captain of our ship; thank you for steering our lives to greater shores. I’ve lost count of how many father’s day celebrations you had to miss due to the nature of your work. Although you may not be present most of the time, you never stopped being a dad for us.

Happy father’s day daddy! Have a good one!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

